Glen Levy on Fight Science

“Kill this dummy “, they said to me “with this”, they handed me a blow dart and pointed to a beam suspended from a wall 13 feet height, “from there”.

It was going to be one of those days.

When I was asked to do the next installment for the Fight Science series, I was yet again honored, and also excited.

Unlike traditional martial arts training, the tests stretch the applications of my abilities in ways I’d never thought of myself.

Most of the tests were outside of my realm of day-to-day training (which is unconventional as it is). This made the new tests quite a challenge and I love to rise to a new challenge.

I really enjoyed that the tests gave me immediate feedback and results that let me learn my strengths and weaknesses while in a safe, controlled environment.

I have been truly blessed to be able to represent the martial artists of the world and get to scientifically prove myself to, well…myself. The types of tests, equipment and scientific experts are simply not things martial artists have access to in everyday life.

This was like a dream come true as I like to think of myself as a “martial scientist”.

I was able to log all the results to assist in my ongoing future training.

The test that stood out for me from the Stealth Warrior episode, was the wall climb and fukiya (blowdart) as it needed to be performed in a way I had never tried before.

Initially I was a little apprehensive, as I had never fired a fukiya under the conditions and circumstances of the challenge, especially not upside down, hanging from a beam.

I had to adjust my aiming and technique to compensate which was a challenge unto itself. I was pleasantly surprised to have hit the dummy accurately in a vital spot. I’m sure that it was (what we in the martial art world  call) a fluke. Either that or my decades of training have paid off, you decide. 🙂

I learned that there are always ways of training that we haven’t thought of yet and the mind is just as important to train as the body. On many occasions on the show I needed to really focus to get into the “zone” to achieve the test results while still maintaining relaxed, not as easy as it sounds.

What viewers might not know is what you get to see in the show is my first attempt at these complicated tests, as there were no rehearsals due to the tight filming schedule.

My only regret is not having more time to play with the tests and try additional tests, because I had so much fun rising to the challenge each test presented. It was a great reminder that no matter how long I have been a teacher I will always be a student.

I hope the show inspires martial artists at all levels to constantly test their limits and abilities while retaining a sense of wonder and excitement.

Glen Levy

P.S Remember to sign up for your FREE copy of my eBook ‘Standing in Stillness

16 Responses to Glen Levy on Fight Science

  1. mdh001 says:

    You are an awesome world leader my fried…the best of the best

  2. Miroslava says:

    Hey Glen! That show Fight Science is amazing! Very informative and fun to watch! I’m from Mexico and I train kung fu. I absolutely love martial arts! It’s great to see people from other parts of the world that share the same passion.
    Hey when are you coming to Mexico? It’d be a real treat to meet you 🙂
    cheers!

  3. Sandman says:

    hey glen, i am a huge fan!fight science was ncredibl!
    i’ve since ben playing tenchu!

  4. Jeffrey says:

    Got fight science today from the library, I hadn’t heard of you until I watched the dvd and I wish I had of when I begun my journey 12 years ago. But it is never to late just applied for your ebooks looking forward to your view on the martial arts. Keep up the good work.

  5. Eagle says:

    Hello Glen.
    Since I heard about you, you became my idol.
    Is it true you started Martial Arts at the age of 5 and you are bearer of 5 black belts?

    Anyway, I am wondering what did you felt, when your full abilities could be unleashed. That dummy surely felt the impact, eh?

    Your gravity center… how you balance your body is something amazing to me. Can you share a secret with all of us, how did you managed to control your body that good?

    Best Wishes
    Eagle.

  6. ashish gill says:

    glen sir i,m your huuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuge fan, just want to be like you , and i can,t explain that how i like you when and i see you as my teacher, and i want to meet you and you are my everything sir plzzzzzzzzz train me and learn to me that art,.,.,.,.,.,
    i follow your 9 core exercise and like you were to do try flip & jumping of actors as i try to do like you but couldn,t bcz every student need a teacher so that he can learn that which he want to learn , sir i convience to you to make me learn,.,.,

  7. ashish gill says:

    sir i live at delhi in india and really can,t tell you that what you are for me… as i obey that you are my teacher, thats why i,m saying you sir, bcz you are my sir ,., like eklavya had built the statue of guru dronacharya as i ,ve made a statue of yours in my mind and every night i see you in my dream that do you know what i see, i see i,m with you and you are teaching me and i,m learning this to you .,..,.

  8. charles says:

    i have studied american kenpo for many years, worked with master larry tatum. The knowledge that you have is unbelievable, please continue to share as much as possible as i enjoy your in depth look as a martial scientest. thanks again for standing in the stillness, i hope to meet someday.

  9. Petar says:

    Where can i watch the new fight science episodes ???

  10. prerna says:

    yeah i saw u at fight science … n ur amazing 😀

  11. Swordswoman says:

    Your technique is half man, half amazing but what impresses me the most is your humility which makes you the most powerful of opponents….

  12. Ruslan says:

    My name is Ruslan! 🙂
    Greetings from Russia!
    Respect!

  13. Galib Imtiaz says:

    You are rock…

  14. nay says:

    I saw that episode. I was blown away by your abilities. I’ve never heard of you til then. I was very impressed and at aww because I have never saw such capabilities from a human being like yours. truly amazing. I am a huge fan now.

  15. I do agree with all of the ideas you have
    presented in your post. They’re very convincing and will definitely work. Still, the posts are too short for beginners. Could you please extend them a little from next time? Thanks for the post.

  16. Italy says:

    These wine racks that are even made for storing wine inside the brightly decorated squares where the wine can be learned if one is interested.
    There are around 2,750,0000 empty flats around the
    theme of the bite. This destination is popular
    by the company that made them.

Leave a Reply

