Aaaargh Frustration!

I’m stuck in a line at the supermarket behind a lady that seems determined to pay for her milk and eggs with handfuls of ten-cent pieces.

She has pockets of “shrapnel” an apparently no short term memory as she continues to lose count and have to start again.

I move to the next aisle where a heavily tattooed guy promptly pulls a ‘closed next aisle’ sign from under the counter and holds it to my face with a look that says, “Don’t you have psychic abilities which enable you to discern that I’m on a break, despite me standing here looking directly at you with a ‘next please’ look on my heavily inbred countenance”.  Too much? I don’t think so.

I walk back to where I just left, to find two people now ahead of me. I hear the guy I just left snigger.

Suddenly a heavy “Tool” song starts playing, I grab this guy, pull him over the counter and suplex him onto his head, where he stays coughing up splinters of his own collarbones…

OK, that last part just happened in my head but it did get me on the thought of frustration.

“Nice segway Glen”. Why thank you…

Whether is a conversation, a car journey or training in general, when things aren’t moving in the direction and/or speed that we have envisioned, it can leave us percolating angrily like a coffee maker with too much coffee and not enough water.

Funnily enough, that exact combination is one of the fastest ways to become and remain irritable in the first place.

Drink water through out the day! Don’t make me get on my soapbox… 🙂

Anyways, allowing yourself to become frustrated can actually be a valuable tool for acting on needed change (when you can change your circumstances).  Another tool is being able to realize when you can’t, and being able to discern between the two.

In the scene of me in the supermarket, I quickly realized, that my time is extremely valuable, in fact worth a lot more than the price of bread and milk.  I also reaffirmed that some people are in better situations then others so I paid for her milk and bread.

The woman turned out to be lovely and in fact, me being held up in the supermarket saved me from being involved in the car accident that I drove toward upon leaving.

A great remedy for frustration, is to remember that timing can be everything, until we are omniscient enough to see the big picture, we should just keep in our hearts that which we want, keep our eyes, ears, and gut feelings open.

Then, just relax and enjoy the ride.

4 Responses to Aaaargh Frustration!

  1. Miroslava says:

    Hi Glen,

    I really enjoy reading your notes on your thoughts.. you’re a really interesting person. I am from Mexico and practice traditional kung fu.
    It’d be really nice to meet you if you ever decide to come to Mexico or anywhere nearby.
    Stay illuminated, you seem really awake 🙂

  2. Brittany says:

    I’d like to second that quote, nice segue Glen. People so often forget to go with the flow and push their lives to places they never intended to be.

    Skilled, creative, wise. . sheesh, where does it end?!

    Hah, happy travels to you sir.

  3. Glen Levy says:

    Thanks Guys 🙂

  4. Jamie says:

    Ditto, nice segway Glen.

    So simply, and beautifully, put; Thanks for the reminder.

    As for the guy that should for all practical purposes be a clean up on aisle 3, I think once we learn not to take other people’s personalities personal, it helps quiet frustrations and we can move along at a much smoother pace.

    Have a great day, and keep writing.

Leave a Reply

